Variable definitions at the begining of functions always?

I am not sure that this is a bug (if it is the workaround is trivial).

This doesn’t compile:

#!/stor/sandbox/little/L/bin/L

void main() {
   string foo = "foo";
   puts("foo is ${foo}");
   string bar = "bar";
   puts("bar is ${bar}");
}

I get:

[lyderic@nuc little]$ ./hello
./hello:6: L Error: syntax error, unexpected id, expecting (
   string bar
          ^

while executing
"L --lineadj=-1

void main() {
   string foo = "foo";
   puts("foo is ${foo}");
   string bar = "bar";
   puts("bar is $..."
    (file "./hello" line 1)

To make it work, I have to put the variable definitions / assignments at the begining of the function like this:

void main() {
   string foo = "foo";
   string bar = "bar";
   puts("foo is ${foo}");
   puts("bar is ${bar}");
}

This is unexpected behaviour to me. Please note I am a C and Java programmer, and I am not used to Tcl nor perl.

Anyway keep up the excellent work! L is a excellent language. I love it :wink:

Hi,

This “feature” is on purpose. It comes from code reviewing, when you are looking at a function it is usually easier to review it if all the variables are up top. I’ll admit it’s my preference and I could be talked into allowing variables are the beginning of a new curly brace scope.

Thanks for the kind words, glad you are enjoying it.

–lm

Well as you say, it is a matter a personal preference.

That being said, as I understand that L is developed in the spirit of C compatibility (one of its biggest selling points IMHO), I would personally prefer to have the C-like behaviour of allowing variables to be initialised anywhere within a curly brace scope.

If not, I would suggest to make at least very clear in the documentation that variables have to be defined at the begining. I don’t think it is said in the documentation, but I have not had time to look very deep yet.

It took me some time to figure out this bug, until I realised it is actually a feature :wink: